The Seven Deadly Sins,
Deadly but not unbeatable!

The Seven Deadly Sins are also known as “Capital Vices” or "Cardinal Sins". They are called "Cardinal" or "Capital", because they stimulate us to commit other offenses.

The 7 deadly sins can be committed in different levels, being venial sins (minor sins) or mortal sins (fatal sins). This depends on the grade of consciousness when doing wrong.

Minor Sins are offenses we commit against God and Neighbor. But they do not destroy our condition of being children of God. Venial Sins can be forgiven to us through Prayer, Acts of Charity and Sacraments.

The Mortal Sins are called mortal because they destroy the Life of Grace within us. This category of offenses creates the threat of eternal damnation for our souls. Mortal Sins attack the vital principle within us, Charity.

This situation causes the need of a new initiative of God's Mercy for us. If we commit a mortal sin it is essential for us to have a real conversion of heart. This is normally achieved by doing a good confession.

According to Catholic Theology, there are Seven Deadly Sins,which are as follows:

The Sin of Pride, the same sin that wrecked Satan. Ironically he tempted Mankind with this same vice. This caused us to break our union with God and to loose our integrity and the Sanctifying Grace, that God bestowed upon us at our Origin.

The Sin of Avarice (greed), a bad habit that shows itself in a very excessive desire in pursuing worldly affairs. In many cases we can see that we don't even need these things to make us happy!

The Wrath Sin is also called the Sin of Anger. Uncontrolled anger can become hate, which causes us to loose the Grace of Charity. We must learn to control Anger before it starts to control our lives.

The Sin of Lust is a vice of uncontrolled desires, of all kinds. Learn why It causes us to make insincere confessions. It also hinders us to understand spiritual matters, hindering our Spiritual Growth.

Read about the Sin of Gluttony and how many financial problems it can cause within families. Gluttony can lead to all kinds of addictions.
It brings many disagreements and sufferings among friends and families.

Sloth, a spiritual and emotional apathy. This sin makes us indifferent to everything. Our Spiritual life, social life and professional life suffer greatly due to the sin of Sloth. Lethargy is the Father of all sins.

Envy, the last of the Seven Deadly Sins, is a bad habit that takes away our inner peace, the peace that God bestows upon people of good will. Overcoming Envy is of huge importance if we want to become real followers of Jesus Christ.

My brothers and sisters, we have to pray for each other, for everyone we meet in our lives. Through prayer we can achieve great miracles and better ourselves.

Did you manage to overcome any Capital Vice?
Please share this with the Catholic Community!..

Many of us have to struggle daily trying to overcome one or more capital sins.

Would not it be great if we could help each other on the road to Eternity?

Let's share with each other how we succeeded in overcoming one or more Capital Vices.

Be generous with your testimony, and you will see how God will be pleased with you!

[ ? ]

Author Information (optional)

To receive credit as the author, enter your information below.

(first or full name)

(e.g., City, State, Country)

Submit Your Contribution

  •  submission guidelines.

(You can preview and edit on the next page)

What Other Visitors Have Shared

Click below to see contributions from other visitors to this page...

Overcoming Capital Vice : In origin, we are untouchable by unholy temptations 
When you are in the darkness, you can physically spot the shadows growing around you. Evil is not something you have to work hard to get it's attention, …

Hard time at school Not rated yet
My friend was being a bully, and I couldn't do anything about it! Then she got this trip to disney world in summer while I was in babysitter control! I …

Click here to write your own.

Return from Seven Deadly Sins to Catholic Religion and More